RBI To Transfer Rs2.10 Tn As Surplus To GoI

Approval given at 608th Meeting of Central Board of the Reserve Bank of India held on Wednesday at Mumbai

Shaktikanta Das., Governor, Reserve Bank of India

FinTech BizNews Service

Mumbai, May 21, 2024: The 608th meeting of the Central Board of Directors of Reserve Bank of India was held today at Mumbai under the Chairmanship of Shri Shaktikanta Das, Governor.

The Board reviewed the global and domestic economic scenario, including risks to the outlook. The Board also discussed the working of the Reserve Bank during the year April 2023 – March 2024 and approved the Reserve Bank’s Annual Report and Financial Statements for the year 2023-24. The transferable surplus for the year (2023-24) has been arrived at on the basis of the Economic Capital Framework (ECF) adopted by the Reserve Bank on August 26, 2019 as per recommendations of the Expert Committee to Review the extant Economic Capital Framework of the Reserve Bank of India (Chairman: Dr. Bimal Jalan). The Committee had recommended that the risk provisioning under the Contingent Risk Buffer (CRB) be maintained within a range of 6.5 to 5.5 per cent of the RBI’s balance sheet.

During accounting years 2018-19 to 2021-22, owing to the prevailing macroeconomic conditions and the onslaught of Covid-19 pandemic, the Board had decided to maintain the CRB at 5.50 per cent of the Reserve Bank’s Balance Sheet size to support growth and overall economic activity. With the revival in economic growth in FY 2022-23, the CRB was increased to 6.00 per cent. As the economy remains robust and resilient, the Board has decided to increase the CRB to 6.50 per cent for FY 2023-24. The Board thereafter approved the transfer of ₹2,10,874 crore ( Lakh crore= Trillion- Tn) as surplus to the Central Government for the accounting year 2023-24.

Deputy Governors Dr. Michael Debabrata Patra, Shri M. Rajeshwar Rao, Shri T. Rabi Sankar, Shri Swaminathan J. and other Directors of the Central Board – Shri Satish K. Marathe, Smt. Revathy Iyer, Shri Anand Gopal Mahindra, Shri Venu Srinivasan, Shri Pankaj Ramanbhai Patel and Dr. Ravindra H. Dholakia – attended the meeting. Shri Ajay Seth, Secretary, Department of Economic Affairs and Dr. Vivek Joshi, Secretary, Department of Financial Services, also attended the meeting.


Cookie Consent

Our website uses cookies to provide your browsing experience and relavent informations.Before continuing to use our website, you agree & accept of our Cookie Policy & Privacy